Articles Tagged with phoenix DUI lawyer

“Under Arizona Drug DUI Laws, a person may be charged with DUI even if they did not consume any alcohol or illegal drugs. Find out how experienced DUI lawyers challenge Drug DUI charges that may lead to dismissal.”

Arizona Drug DUI – Medication DUI Charges

In Arizona, you may be charged with Drug DUI under A.R.S. § 28-1381. If convicted, they will be exposed to the same penalties as those that apply to alcohol DUI charges. The simple presence of a drug in your system is enough for the Phoenix Police to charge you. They must have probable cause to believe you were driving “impaired to the slightest degree. Offenses for Drug DUI are charged as Class 1 Misdemeanors, which carry harsh penalties including 10 days in jail; suspension of driver’s license for 90 days; probation; drug and alcohol counseling and education program participation; and fines, fees, costs and assessments that exceed $1,200.00.

15 Traits of criminal Lawyers who get Maricopa County Defense AZ charges for DUI Dismissed!

“Your chances of getting charges dismissed increase with an attorney who can present “a compelling argument”, over an attorney who has a stronger argument, but presents it less persuasively.”

– James Novak, AZ DUI & Criminal Defense Trial Lawyer and Author of “Arizona Winning DUI & Criminal Defense Strategies” Book Series

What Makes a Good Phoenix AZ Criminal Defense Lawyer the Best

The Best DUI Lawyers Choose the Right Defense Strategies
For starters, the Best DUI defense lawyers in Phoenix AZ, chooses the right defenses and Defense strategies. Effective defenses must be carefully selected and tailored to fit each defendant’s set of circumstances. A good criminal defense lawyer understands that certain defenses used in one case, may not apply in another. Any attorney who says most DUI cases are “standard” or “cookie cutter”, most likely does not defend DUI cases on a regular basis or every client is unique, as is the circumstances, evidence and facts surrounding the case. Thus, their defense case must be unique as well in order to be successful. A defense strategy for one client to get a case dismissed may result in a poor outcome for another.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y0eEUEyF6CA

DUI Lawyers in Phoenix – What to Look for to Find the Best Criminal Defense Attorney

Good criminal defense attorneys must possess many important traits. Here will we look at just a few of those traits that make good DUI attorneys the best, as they relate to the matter of Arizona criminal laws and defenses:

• The ability to correctly interpret the law and defenses;
• Can identify those which will serve their clients defense the most effectively, under the proper circumstances;
• Has the ability to translate the issues of law into simple terms for the client;
• Is passionate about their clients being treated fairly and with respect under the law;
• Will make the time needed to tailor, build, and present a compelling defense case; every DUI or criminal charge is unique and carries its own individual set of circumstances and evidence (or lack thereof).
• A good DUI or criminal defense lawyer will exhaust all means possible to get the best outcome in their client’s case such as partial or complete dismissal of charges; negotiating lesser charges; or obtaining leniency in sentencing and penalties by the court if convicted.

What You Can do to Find the Best DUI lawyer in Phoenix AZ

As you may already have learned there are so many criminal and DUI lawyers in Phoenix Metro and surrounding cities in Maricopa County that it is tough to choose from them all. And how do you know if there as good as they or their websites say they are? Here are some things to consider doing once you have narrowed your search geographically, and verified credentials and license to practice in your jurisdiction:

1) Read reviews from prior clients on the web, search engines, review sites and such;
2) Select two or three of your top picks, or more if you feel it necessary;
3) Contact at least two or three and meet with them by phone or in person;
4) Ask questions; Most DUI & Criminal defense attorneys in Phoenix AZ provide free consultations;
5) Don’t be afraid to ask them about their education, defense and trial experience, credentials, and anything else that will make you feel you have found the most qualified person for the job.

Wouldn’t you do these things if you were looking for a good doctor, dentist, or building contractor? Choosing the right criminal defense lawyer for your DUI or criminal charges is one of the most important decisions you make in your life. It can mean the difference between losing your freedom and getting a dismissal in your case. Take as much time as you need to feel comfortable with your choice, while keeping in mind that early retention of a criminal defense lawyer is key to a successful outcome.

Continue reading

10 Things Police Don’t Tell You about Phoenix DUI Sobriety Checkpoints.

Article Written By: James Novak, Experienced Phoenix DUI Lawyer, & Criminal Defense Attorney
This time every year, Phoenix DUI lawyers and criminal defense attorneys start getting pretty busy with DUI violations, and other criminal charges that result from drinking and driving, or other offense that can stem celebrations or gatherings. One thing to expect is Arizona DUI sobriety check points. Phoenix DUI checkpoints are pre-determined and announced by city officials and law enforcement agencies. Not only are the locations of the DUI sobriety checkpoints decided in advance, but so are the vehicles they decide to stop. Federal laws adopted by Arizona, require that which vehicles to stop, be based on a mathematical formula. For example, it could be every third or fourth vehicle, or every vehicle. The only way to be 100% certain you won’t be stopped if you find yourself in a DUI roadblock line is the obvious: Avoid drinking and driving; and avoid driving impaired to the slightest degree, due to alcohol, drugs, or any other toxic substances that would impair your ability to drive in Arizona. If that is not possible, then read on to learn how to survive the DUI stop:

1. Stay away.
Before you leave for your destination, find out in advance where the planned Phoenix, Tempe, Mesa, Chandler, Gilbert, Scottsdale DUI roadblocks will be. Officials must announce DUI sobriety check point locations in advance. Check your local media and news sources; official law enforcement, DPS, Maricopa County, and other Social Media outlets, websites, blogs. Then take a detour.

2. Make your Arizona driver’s license and registration accessible to you in the vehicle. When the police stop a vehicle at a DUI check point, they will ask you for your driver’s license and vehicle registration. They are not just looking to see if your driver’s license is current and valid; or to make sure you’re not driving a stolen vehicle. They are also observing your demeanor, any unusual fumbling; or lack of controlled motor skills they may cause them to investigate you further for Arizona drunk driving or DUI. Produce your license and registration timely and without question.

3. Stay calm and in control. The Phoenix police or DPS officers always expect people to be a little nervous at a DUI stop, even if they have nothing to hide. But being overly nervous or over gesturing is a red flag to them that something’s up;
4. Don’t joke around. Refrain from joking, laughing or chattering to the police or other passengers in the vehicle with you. Heads up passengers….this includes you too. In fact, you should alert all passengers that you are approaching a DUI checkpoint that silence and respect is necessary, and throughout the process.

5. Get off the cell phone and refrain from texting. While in line or at the actual DUI stop, stay focused; pay attention; and listen to what is being asked of you by the police.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y0eEUEyF6CA

6. Don’t complain about the Phoenix DUI checkpoint or being stopped. Remain respectful and polite to the officers. Treat them how you would want to be treated if the tables were turned.

7. Give them only the information they are requesting. Don’t offer information about where you’ve been; where you are going, what you’ve eaten, or what you have been drinking, or anything of that nature. What may seem to you as harmless or innocent “elevator conversation” may actually cause them to question you further. A respectful greeting is sufficient such as “Good evening officer”, “Hello officer”, “Thank-you Officer” and the like.
8. Don’t offer any information about medical conditions or medications you have. And especially do not offer information regarding prescription or over-the-counter medications you may have consumed or that may be in your possession. To do so, may cue the officer’s to investigate you further for a Phoenix Drug DUI or Medication DUI. In Arizona you can get a DUI if you are “impaired to the slightest degree” by legal non-prescription drugs. You may not be aware that certain medications you purchased from a local drug store for aches, pain, allergies, headaches or other reason, contained ingredients that impaired your driving.

9. Don’t allow passengers to carry or consume alcoholic beverages while in your vehicle. When you step up to be the designated driver, you get to make the rules. The rules are to protect you and them. It’s your license and your freedom is on the line. Your job is to be sober and get them to their destination safely. Their job is to ride by your rules. When you make the rules and your riders abide them, everyone wins and you’re the “Most Valuable Player”.

10. If you are charged with DUI, consult an experienced Phoenix DUI lawyer as soon as reasonably possible regarding your matter. Arizona DUI, drunk driving, or DWI charges carry some of the most severe penalties in the Country. You will need a good Phoenix criminal attorney to defend your charges; protect your rights; and fight for a dismissal or other favorable outcome.

If you “Like” this article please let us know! Feel Free to Subscribe and Share”!

Continue reading

Phoenix Criminal Attorney | DUI DWI Criminal Defense Lawyers

Why You Should Exercise Your Right to ‘Remain Silent” following an Arrest for Phoenix DUI or Criminal Charges
1) You do not want to “convict” yourself by verbally accepting guilt of a crime. Do not assume that because you were arrested for a crime, you will be found guilty.
An arrest is not a conviction. Any DUI, DWI, Drunk Driving or criminal charges can be challenged by a qualified private practice criminal defense lawyer. There may be defenses, that you are not aware of, that if used, can lead to a dismissal of your charges. But the police or prosecution will not provide you with this information even if they are aware of it. The prosecutor’s job is to convict you not to defend you or give you any reason to challenge your criminal charges. There are far more arrests in Phoenix than convictions. Often criminal charges get dismissed with good legal representation by a proven criminal lawyer who defends criminal charges in Phoenix AZ on a regular basis.

2) Following a Phoenix arrest for DUI DWI, or other criminal charges, you can count on the police to continue to “take notes” what you say and do. Your words and actions will be documents. They can and will be used against you by the Arizona Prosecution. In most cases, defendants do not realize that what they are saying or doing will incriminate them further and harm their defense. If you find yourself being questioned or interrogated, you must let police know verbally that you wish to exercise your right to remain silent, and to have an attorney present during any questioning related to the charges. Note: If remain silent without verbally acknowledging that you wish to exercise your right to remain silent, then you will appear uncooperative to the court which will further harm your defense case.

3) If you allow yourself to be questioned or interrogated by police regarding your guilt or innocence of the Phoenix DUI DWI or Criminal Charges following your arrest, after being read your Miranda Rights, you voluntarily waive your rights. (“right to an attorney” and “right to remain silent”). Admitting to a crime is one of the fastest ways to get a conviction. The penalties for Phoenix drunk driving, DUI DWI, or many other criminal charges in Arizona are severe. When you are later sentenced and learn the severity of the punishment, you can’t turn back. You can not reclaim your right to remain silent later, if you were properly read your Miranda Warning.

4) Until your Phoenix criminal or DUI case has run its course through the criminal justice system, the prosecution will egregiously look for inconsistencies or statements in “your story”. You may be surprised to find out that the inconsistent statement does not have to be material to the criminal charge itself. Regardless of the subject matter of the statement, or what forum the statement was made, if it is different, it will harm your defense credibility. Without a doubt, he prosecution can make strengthen their case by accusing you of “changing your story”, and make an issue of your credibility or trustworthiness in the eyes of the court, judge or jury.

5) Admitting to guilt of a crime will generally only makes things worse for you. You will just be convicted swiftly and sentenced by the judge to penalties under Arizona law for that crime. Some defendants think that if they admit to committing a crime or drunk driving in Arizona, that their punishments or sentencing will somehow be reduced. That is not the case. In Arizona, mandatory sentencing guidelines exist for DUI DWI and most criminal charges. You will face the same penalties in most cases for the DUI or crime than a defendant to plead “not guilty” and was later convicted of the criminal charge.

Continue reading

An AZ DUI with no aggravating factors is a Class 1 Misdemeanor; but don’t let anyone mislead you into thinking that a “Misdemeanor DUI” in Arizona is not serious. AZ penalties for Misdemeanor DUI are more serious than penalties for a felony in many states. Do not plead guilty of any Arizona DUI charge, before consulting an experienced Phoenix DUI Attorney.

Misdemeanor DUI charges may be lenient in some states, but Arizona is not one of them. Phoenix DUI charges are very serious and you will be subject to mandatory punishments in place under Arizona State Law. Even a first time Phoenix Misdemeanor DUI can subject you to mandatory jail; hefty fines; fees, and court costs; loss or suspension of your driver license; ignition interlock device on your vehicle and more.

Arizona Misdemeanor DUI Laws:
Generally an Arizona DUI with no “aggravating factors” is a Class 1 Misdemeanor as cited in part under A.R.S. 28-1381. The majority of DUI DWI charges in Arizona are classified as Misdemeanors. A Phoenix “Misdemeanor DUI DWI charge” will be raised to a “Felony DUI” only when certain “aggravating” factors exist. To read more about the specific factors that will elevate a Misdemeanor DUI DWI to a Felony DUI DWI visit www.arizonacriminaldefenselawyer.com/lawyer-attorney-1629205.html.

A Misdemeanor DUI in Arizona can be charged if a person is operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, any drug, a vapor releasing substance containing a toxic substance or any combination of liquor, drugs or vapor releasing substance and:

1. The driver of the vehicle in Arizona is impaired to the slightest degree (A.R.S. §28-1381(A) (1) or “impaired to the slightest degree”; and/or…

2. The driver of a vehicle in Arizona if the person has an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more within two hours of driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle and the alcohol concentration results from alcohol were consumed before or while driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle. (A.R.S. §28-1381(A) (2)) or “DUI”.

If the police have evidence that a driver is “impaired to the slightest degree” and had Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) lever of 0.08% or greater within two hours of driving or being in “actual physical control” of a vehicle, they will usually charge the driver with not only one, but two DUI charges in that one stop.

ARIZONA MISDEMEANOR DUI: It is illegal to DRIVE or be in ACTUAL PHYSICAL CONTROL of a motor vehicle in Arizona under the following circumstances:
PER SE DUI – Adult “Impaired to the Slightest Degree” by Alcohol
DUI Minor – Minor with or without impairment, “Zero Tolerance” for person under 21 years of age. BAC level of 0.08 is not required.
CDL DUI – Blood Alcohol BAC 0.04% or greater for adult Commercial Driver
DUI – Blood Alcohol Content BAC 0.08% or greater for adult Driver within two hours of driving
Extreme DUI – Blood Alcohol Content BAC 0.15% or greater adult within 2 hours of driving
Super Extreme DUI – BAC 0.20% or greater adult – within 2 hours of driving
Drug DUI – Impaired by any Drug whether lawfully prescribed drugs, over-the-counter drugs, legal or illegal drugs, dangerous or drugs not classified as dangerous.

Note: The Arizona DUI charges listed above are all considered to be separate and distinct charges. So a driver stopped under suspicion of DUI can actually be charged with one or more of these charges in one stop. The number of violations you may be charged with during one DUI stop is determined by the police DUI investigation, and DUI test results such as DUI breath test, DUI blood tests, or other chemical testing.

Misdemeanor DUI Defense – Arizona DUI – DWI Lawyers
Arizona misdemeanor DUI charges are heard in Arizona justice, city or municipal courts. Be sure that you are being defended by a private practice Phoenix or Arizona DUI lawyer with trial and defense experience; and one who is very familiar with the protocol, procedures and laws, judges and prosecutors in he court in the county, city or jurisdiction in Arizona for which you are required to appear for your court date. This will provide you with a definite advantage in your defense and increase your chances of a successful outcome. A good Arizona DUI attorney will tailor and build a defense case based on the facts of your DUI charges. They will know how to build a winning defense strategy in an effort to get your charges dismissed, reduced or the otherwise best outcome in your case.

Continue reading

How AZ DUI Laws will affect your Phoenix DUI

DUI charges in Phoenix, AZ are serious and described as some of the harshest in the country. You should consult an experienced AZ DUI Lawyer or Arizona criminal defense attorney who defends cases frequently in Phoenix Court as soon as possible
It makes no difference if your charges were for Tempe DUI, Phoenix DUI, Gilbert DUI, Mesa DUI, Scottsdale DUI, Chandler DUI, or Maricopa County, or any city in Arizona, the DUI laws, classifications, and penalties fall under the rule and jurisdiction
of the laws of the State of Arizona.

In Arizona it is unlawful operate a motor vehicle of any kind while driving under the influence of intoxicating or impairing drug, vapor releasing substances containing a toxic chemical or any combination of alcohol, drugs and or vapor releasing substances if the person is “impaired to the slightest degree” (A.R.S. §28-1381(A)(1). This includes driving a vehicle if the person has an alcohol concentration level 0.08 or greater, more within two hours of driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle and the alcohol concentration results from alcohol consumed either before or while driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle. (A.R.S. §28-1381(A) (2))

It is unlawful in Phoenix Arizona for a anyone to drive or be in actual physical control of a motor vehicle if the that person alcohol concentration of the following: Within two hours of driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle and the alcohol concentration results from alcohol consumed either before or while driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle: 0.15 or more but less than 0.20. (A.R.S. §28-1382(A)(1) or “Extreme DUI” and within two hours of driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle and the alcohol concentration results from alcohol consumed either before or while driving or being in actual physical control of the vehicle: 0.20 or more. (A.R.S. §28-1382(A) (2)) or “Super Extreme DUI”. The higher the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC), the harsher the sentencing and penalties.

The consequences and penalties for Phoenix DUI are serious. Penalties range from minimal of 30 days in jail to extended prison sentencing, along with other penalties, fines, and fees. The Phoenix Court must abide by the minimum and maximum sentencing of the State. However, the Phoenix Judge may have some minor discretion over giving out further penalties if they believe they are necessary, reasonable and appropriate.

You should consult an experienced private practice AZ DUI Attorney or AZ criminal defense attorney who defends DUI charges Phoenix Courts frequently. They will be your voice and barrier between you and the prosecution, to make sure your rights are protected; you do not incriminate yourself further; and will utilize all defenses available based on your DUI circumstances to get your case dismissed, charges reduced, evidence
If you have been arrested for any Phoenix, AZ DUI other criminal charge contact the Law Office of James Novak, for your Free Consultation at 480) 413-1499. Speak directly with experienced Arizona criminal Defense and DUI Defense Attorney and James Novak (Former Prosecutor).

The Law Office of James Novak is devoted to handling 100% DUI, Drug & criminal cases in Phoenix and Maricopa County valley-wide.

Continue reading

If you have been arrested for felony DUI in Arizona, you will need to consult a Phoenix DUI lawyer as soon as possible to discuss your charges and defense. A felony DUI in Phoenix exposes you to severe penalties and sentencing if convicted including prison time. You will need an experienced Arizona DUI lawyer who defends felony DUI charges in Phoenix on a regular basis.
Arizona Felony DUI Laws:
There are three aggravating factors that will escalate a Phoenix Misdemeanor DUI charge to a Felony DUI charge in Phoenix AZ.
A.R.S. §28-1383(A) (1): (Paraphrased for Legal Ease) You were arrested for AZ DUI while your license was suspended, restricted or revoked (Class 3 Felony).

A.R.S. §28-1383(A) (2): (Paraphrased for Legal Ease) This is your third DUI charge and you have at least two prior DUI convictions within the last 7 years. (Class 3 felony).

A.R.S. §28-1383(A) (3): (Paraphrased for Legal Ease) You were arrested for DUI and there was a child under 15 years of age was a passenger in the vehicle. You were driving. (Class 6 Felony).

DUI Penalties – Felony DUI in Arizona
A Phoenix Felony DUI conviction exposes you to mandatory sentencing guidelines. Each case has its own unique circumstances that may affect the DUI penalties ordered by the judge in the event of a DUI conviction. The mandatory DUI penalties under Arizona Law, may include, but are not limited to the following:

• Long Term Felony criminal record;
• Jail time that ranges from one day to one year;
• Prison time from 4 months to 2 ½ years of incarceration;
• Revoking of your drivers license for 3 years;
• Lengthy supervised probation;
• Use of Ignition Interlock Device at your expense;
• Fines of Up to $150,000 plus 80% surcharge;
• $1500 prison assessment;
• $250 abatement fee;
• Probation fees;
• Costs for Drug or Alcohol Treatment Screening;
• Costs for Drug or Alcohol Counseling or Treatment Program;
The above penalties are subject to change based on circumstances surrounding your Felony DUI charges and frequent changes to Arizona Law.

DUI Penalties for a Phoenix DUI conviction may be “aggravated” or
“mitigated”. Aggravated punishments are factors surrounding your Phoenix DUI that support the prosecution’s case against you and warrant more serious and additional DUI penalties. Mitigating factors are circumstances or evidence that supports your DUI defense and warrant less serious punishments.

Defense Lawyers for Felony DUI in Phoenix
The judge or prosecution will not generally offer mitigated sentencing without compelling arguments presented or motions filed by your Phoenix DUI Defense Lawyer on your behalf. A good Phoenix DUI defense attorney will examine the evidence and facts of your case to find mitigating factors that will lead to a reduction of your penalties in the event of a felony DUI partial or complete conviction.

The felony DUI penalties are so severe, and disruptive on a person’s life, that they sometimes become overwhelmed and feel that the situation is too hopeless to hire a defense attorney. However, a qualified Phoenix DUI lawyer or AZ criminal defense lawyer can defend any Phoenix Felony DUI charges regardless of the severity or classification of the charges or the amount of your Blood Alcohol Content or BAC levels. In many cases they can get evidence dismissed; charges reduced to a Misdemeanor DUI or other reduced charge; or get the felony DUI charges completely dismissed. Early retention of an experienced private Phoenix DUI attorney drastically increases your chance of getting a good outcome in your Felony DUI case. To the contrary going without representation of a good private DUI or criminal defense lawyer, is the quickest path to a Felony DUI conviction in Phoenix with harsh and mitigated penalties.

Continue reading

If you were arrested for an AZ DUI arrest based on your BAC results, does not automatically mean you will be convicted. Good Phoenix DUI attorneys may be able to use the blood test evidence to defend you, and get your charges dismissed.

DUI charges in Phoenix based on Blood Test Results
If you were charged with an AZ DUI in Phoenix based upon your BAC levels from blood test results, you should contact a DUI lawyer or criminal defense attorney who defends DUI charges in Phoenix AZ as soon as possible. The best DUI lawyers in Arizona may be able to find good reasons to challenge the same blood test results to defend your DUI charges. This is done when your DUI defense attorney finds violations and errors in conducting the blood test; processing the results; failure of police to follow prescribed rules of testing, analysis, preservation, or transport. Often your criminal defense attorney can educate the prosecution on the facts, and challenge the blood evidence. This often leads to suppression of that evidence and total dismissal of your DUI charges.

Blood Testing for a DUI Stop
A driver who is stopped in Phoenix AZ for suspicion of drunk driving does not get a choice as to what test the police will conduct. The officer has discretion of using any of three options: Blood, Breath, or Urine testing. Below are some reasons why the police officer may use a blood test as the preferred method of choice:
1) The driver refused to take a breath test. In this event the officer can obtain a court order from an on-duty judge to draw the driver’s blood samples.
2) Some circumstances, if they exist, may cause the driver an unfavorable candidate for a breathalyzer test. For example, if the driver had been vomiting, or belching, it could adversely affect the accuracy of breathalyzer test results.
3) The breathalyzer test was conducted first, and the results were negative for alcohol. However, the police had reason to suspect you were driving impaired. Therefore, they decide to conduct a blood test to determine if there are drugs, chemicals or other toxins that caused the impaired driving.
4) An auto accident was involved; and the suspected drunk driver was either unconscious or otherwise incapable of participating in a breathalyzer test due to severity of their injuries.

AZ DUI Laws – DUI Blood Tests
It is common in Phoenix AZ for the police officer to personally draw the blood sample. However, they must be properly trained phlebotomy to conduct the DUI blood test. Many police departments send officers to get certified.

When the blood is drawn the police should draw a second sample for you to give to your DUI defense Attorney. They then send the sample to their crime lab for processing using a gas chromatograph. The turnaround time is on average 2 to 8 weeks for the crime lab to return the results. The criminal defense attorney has the opportunity to have the blood retested at an independent lab. The defense attorney then examines the processes that took place and compares results against the prosecutions.

The Arizona courts have upheld the legality of a police officer drawing the blood sample as long as they have been properly trained and certified as phlebotomists for this purpose. Strict guidelines apply to conducting, storage, and transport of the blood sample, the blood kits storage; blood kit expiration dates; avoidance of exposure to extreme heat or cold temperatures of their blood kits; chemicals used to clean the driver’s arm before the blood is taken. All of these factors are critical to making sure the blood results are accurate.

DUI Lawyers for Phoenix DUI – Using Blood Results for AZ DUI Defense
During your initial consultation with a Phoenix DUI Attorney, ask if they intend to retest the blood. If so, ask who will be responsible for paying the fee to retest the blood sample. Blood testing in Arizona from an independent lab costs on average $250.00. Many AZ DUI lawyers will take care of that fee as a courtesy to the client. Many blood retests can lead to dismissal of your DUI charges. So even if the Phoenix DUI defense attorney you select does not pay the fee for you, it is well worth the cost to pay for the blood retest. It is very unwise to forfeit the opportunity to have your attorney get the blood retested; examine the process that took place, and compare results. Too many DUI charges have been dismissed due to the challenging of blood results, for it to be ignored. Top criminal defense attorneys in Arizona often find flaws and errors in blood testing and processing; present compelling arguments and challenge the blood test result violations that can lead to a total case dismissal.

Continue reading

How to find the best Phoenix DUI Lawyer in Arizona

If you face Phoenix DUI charges or any Criminal in Arizona, you will need to consult the best Phoenix AZ Criminal defense lawyer or DUI defense Attorney you can find. This is because the State of Arizona has some of the harshest laws and penalties for DUI and criminal conviction in the USA. After being charged with a DUI or crime, most people do not know where to start to find a good criminal defense or DUI lawyer. There are so many. Here are some basic sources to start with:

1) Search the internet you can do searches on the internet and easily get information from attorneys’ websites. Read reviews, compare services, and listings.
2) Get a referral from a trusted family member, friend or neighbor
3) Check on line directory listings for Attorneys
4) Contact the Maricopa County Bar Association
5) Look for Attorneys who are licensed to practice in the State of Arizona and who defends Phoenix DUI charges in the jurisdiction or municipality you where you were charged. Note, it does not matter where you reside, you need a defense attorney in the city, jurisdiction, county or state in which you were charged.

After selecting a few Criminal or DUI defense Attorneys who practice in Phoenix contact them for a free consultation either by phone or in person. You can discuss your charges and defense options. But just as important, is that you find out about them. Here is a short list of some things you want to know about them:

• How familiar are they with the changing Arizona Laws and penalties?
• How often to they defend cases often in Phoenix AZ Court and Arizona criminal justice system?
• How familiar are they with the Judge, prosecution, and court procedures?
• Are they licensed to practice criminal defense in Arizona?
• How long have they defended criminal and DUI charges in Arizona?
• Are they well versed and successful have they been at utilizing DUI and criminal defense strategies
• How long they have they been in practice?
• Are they experienced in trail and litigation in Phoenix?
• Is their Law practice devoted 100% to DUI and criminal defense?
• What are their pre-trial and trial fees?
• How do they expect payment and are they willing to work with you on a payment plan if needed?
• Have they ever been Maricopa County Prosecutors?
• Will they take the time needed to examine the evidence to build and mount a strong DUI or Criminal Defense case challenging the Phoenix prosecution?
• Who will actually be handling the day to day activities, court appearances, investigation and all the services needed for your defense?
• If different than to whom you are speaking, will you get a chance to meet them and ask them these important questions as well?
• Who can you go to for questions throughout your defense process?

Do not be afraid to ask any of these questions. In this case you will be the employer, and the Phoenix DUI lawyer or criminal defense attorney will be working for you. It is a big decision, not to be taken lightly. If you choose wisely, it may mean the difference between a criminal conviction and a dismissal of your charges.

Continue reading