Articles Tagged with Law Office James Novak

“Disorderly Conduct arrests are made all too often in Maricopa County AZ; How good criminal defense attorneys get disorderly conduct charges dismissed”.

Maricopa County Disorderly Conduct Charges
Maricopa County “Disorderly conduct charges”, sometimes referred to as “disturbing the peace” are made all too often. But commonality does not reduce their consequences. An experienced Maricopa County criminal defense attorney will tell you they should be taken seriously due to the severe penalties you may be exposed to if convicted.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a1yuGMaIWhs

Arizona Disorderly Conduct Penalties
Circumstances surrounding the incident have a significant impact on the classification in which they will be charged. Disorderly conduct charges in are usually brought as Class 1 Misdemeanors., he highest level of Arizona Misdemeanors. Class 1 Misdemeanor convictions carry penalties of up to 6 months incarceration and up to $2500.00 fines.
Class 6 Felonies will usually be charged if the disorderly conduct involves a firearm. Disorderly Conduct Felony Charges carry maximum sentencing of up to one year in state prison, fines, fees, a felony criminal record; and could include other punishments ordered by the court.

Disorderly Conduct Laws in Maricopa County
Arizona Disorderly Conduct Laws are classified, and defined in Title 13 of Arizona Criminal Code ARS 13-2904. Below is a paraphrased discussion of the law:
A person can be charged with disorderly conduct in the following circumstances:

1) The person “with intent” disturbs another person, neighborhood, or business’s peace: or
2) “With knowledge”, of their actions, a person displays or engages in the following:
• Fight, altercation. or other behavior which was disruptive;
• Unreasonably disruptive noise or music;
• Offensive, abusive, disturbing language or gestures which in turn provoke another person to immediately retaliate;
• The disruption or commotion continues for an extended period of time;
• Any physical or verbal disturbance displayed with the intent to prevent or distract a lawful gathering, or meeting;
• Disobedience or Failure to adhere to a lawful instructions or orders to leave, evacuate, or dismiss one’s presence from a premises or area issued for purposes of public safety; risk of danger or peril such as fire; or other imminent hazard or emergency;
• Reckless display or unlawful discharge of a gun or other deadly weapon.

Defenses for Maricopa County AZ Disorderly Conduct Charges
Experienced Maricopa County criminal defense attorneys challenge disorderly conduct charges frequently due to their subjective nature. An effective use of legal defenses often results in dismissal of the charges. There are a vast number of defenses that can be used to combat unjust or unwarranted disorderly conduct charges. Your criminal defense lawyer uses will be tailored to the fact of the case: Below are examples of defenses that may apply (list not exhaustive):

• “Justification”; Defenses used to explain why the conduct was “justified” and not unlawful: self-defense; imminent fear of danger to one’s self or family; immediate reaction to provocation or threat;
• “Affirmative”; Facts that bar or prevent the State from being able to prosecute the charges: Jurisdictional challenges; violations of time limit statutes to bring charges; the accused had a severe mental illness and did not know or intend to engage in disorderly conduct;
• “Reasonable Doubt”; Trust worthy witnesses to the incident provide compelling testimony which conflicts with the police officer’s account of the accused person’s conducts; Prosecution is unable to prove “beyond a reasonable doubt” that the accused engaged in disorderly conduct; No evidence, witnesses, or no complaints exists to support that the accused disturbed anyone’s peace or engaged in disorderly conduct;
• “Violation (s) of Constitutional Rights”; Right to free speech in absences of abusive or offensive language; right to lawfully and peacefully assemble; right to peacefully and without offense or disturbance pray, practice faith or religion of choice.

Reasons Police Choose to Make Arrests for Disorderly Conduct
Those arrested or charged for disorderly conduct often wonder what they did to deserve to be arrested. Maricopa County criminal defense attorneys agree that it is an overused charged. The police generally use it as a “catch-all” charge, when no other appropriate charges exist and they want to make an arrest. Charges sometimes follow a police warning, but a warning is not required. The most common reasons police decide to charge or arrest someone for disorderly conduct is Maricopa County is for the following reasons:
1) Police are annoyed with you;
2) No other appropriate charges exist for them to use;
3) Police feel the need to make an arrest or charge because someone has made a complaint against you;
4) Police gave you a warning, and the conduct, music, disruptive behavior continued and they had to return;
5) You disrespected or disobeyed orders from police;
6) Police believed your actions were deliberate, intended, and you were not cooperating with them
Never plead guilty for disorderly conduct charges without first consulting a Maricopa County Criminal Defense Attorney. They will provide you with information and options for your defense.

If you “Like” this article please let us know! Feel Free to “Share”!

Continue reading

“Why You Should Not Plead Guilty to Disorderly Conduct Charges in Mesa, without consulting a good criminal lawyer who provides criminal defense in Mesa AZ!”
10 Reasons Police May Charge You for Disorderly Conduct in Mesa AZ

Editor’s Note: This list of reasons may get you angry; Make sure you don’t “disturb anyone’s peace” when you read it!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a1yuGMaIWhs

Mesa AZ “Disorderly conduct charges (“disturbing the peace”) are common in Arizona. But commonality does not reduce their severity. An experienced criminal defense attorney who defends Mesa Disorderly Conduct Charges will be the first to tell you, to take the charges seriously. This is due to the consequences of a conviction.

The police generally use disorderly conduct as a “catch-all” charge, and they see it necessary to make an arrest. Here are some of the reasons police may charge or arrest someone for disorderly conduct
1) Police are annoyed with you;
2) No other criminal charges exist that are more appropriate for the conduct;
3) Someone has made a complaint against you for disruptive conduct;
4) Police gave you a warning; and had to return because the conduct, or disruptive music continued;
5) You disobeyed an order or instruction the police gave you;
6) They Police did not like “the look” you gave them or the “tone of voice” you used in response to them;
7) It was the opinion of the police that you were being uncooperative;
8) Police believed your conduct was deliberate, intended, and that you knew you were disturbing others peace;.
9) Police perceived you not being as respectful to them as they would like;
10) Police did not know which person to arrest or charge, so it was easier from them to arrest or charge both or all persons at the scene; knowing one or more of the people were innocent.

Like any arrest or criminal charges, they are not always lawful or justified. But the person arrested for disorderly conduct now faces criminal charges, and will need to get the criminal matter resolved or face potential serious consequences if convicted.

Penalties for Disorderly Conduct in Mesa AZ

Facts involving the incident which led to the arrest, will dictate the classification of the disorderly conduct charges. They are typically charged as Class 1 Misdemeanors. These are the most severe level of AZ Misdemeanors. Class 1 Misdemeanor convictions carry sentencing that can range from probation and fines up to 6 months incarceration and up to $2500.00 fines.

Class 6 Felonies are charged if the disorderly conduct involves a firearm. Disorderly Conduct Felonies carry maximum penalties of up to one year in state prison, fines and fees, and a felony that will stay on your criminal record for years to come.

Disorderly Conduct Laws in Arizona
Arizona Disorderly Conduct Laws are classified, and defined in Title 13 of Arizona Criminal Code ARS 13-2904. A discussion of the law is paraphrased below:

A person can be charged with disorderly conduct in the following circumstances:
1) “With intent” a person disturbs another’s, or a business or other entities’ peace: or
2) “With knowledge”, of their actions, a person displays or engages in the following:
• Fights, physical or verbal; or other serious disruptive behavior;
• Playing unreasonably loud music during nighttime hours especially, when others are sleeping, or making other continuously loud noise;
• Using offensive, disturbing or abusive language (or gestures) which provoke “immediate” retaliation by another party;
• Any such disruption or disturbance last for an extended period of time;
• Any physical or verbal disturbance caused by a person with the intent to prevent or distract a lawful meeting or gathering;
• Disobedience of a civil or lawful order to leave, evacuate or dismiss one’s self from a premises or area. They order may be issued for reasons involving public safety; imminent danger or peril such as fire, flood, or other hazard or emergency;
• Reckless unlawful discharge of a firearm, or reckless unlawful display of a gun or other dangerous weapon.

Criminal Defense for Mesa AZ Disorderly Conduct Charges

Good criminal attorneys who defend criminal charges in Mesa AZ challenge disorderly conduct charges frequently; and often get disorderly conduct charges dismissed. This is mainly due to their subjective nature. An effective use of legal defenses is the key. Many defenses can be used to combat unjust or unwarranted disorderly conduct charges. Your criminal defense lawyer uses will be tailored to the fact of your case: Some examples of defenses that may be used to challenge disorderly conduct charges would include “Justification” defenses; “Affirmative” Defenses; “Reasonable Doubt” defenses; or Violation of Rights defenses.

It is unwise to plead guilty to disorderly conduct charges and accept the consequences without legal review and retention of a Criminal Defense Attorney who defends disorderly conduct charges in Mesa AZ on a regular basis. Depending on the facts, there is good chance they may be able to successfully challenge the charges, which could lead to a dismissal in your case.

If you “Like” this article please let us know! Feel Free to “Share”!

Continue reading

“Chandler disorderly conduct charges are often challenged by good criminal lawyers who defend criminal charges in Chandler Arizona. Here’s how they often get dismissed”.

Chandler Disorderly Conduct Charges
These are probably some of the most frequent criminal charges given out by Chandler Police. But at the same time, they are some of the most frequently challenged charges by criminal defense attorneys. Many are dismissed due to their subjective nature. Every case carries its own unique circumstances, and criminal lawyers tailor defenses to challenge the evidence, or lack thereof. To get a conviction, for disorderly conduct charges the prosecution has the burden of proving that the disruptive conduct disrupted a business, or disturbed someone’s peace; the accused had “knowledge” that they were disturbing others; or that there actions were “intentional”. While this is an uphill battle for the prosecution, you will need to retain the assistance of a criminal defense attorney to defend you case if you wish to increase your chances of getting the charges dismissed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a1yuGMaIWhs

Arizona Disorderly Conduct Laws – Discussion
Title 13 ARS 13-2904. A & B outlines situations under the law that would result in disorderly conduct law violations. But the reality is that the facts or circumstances surrounding the criminal charge are not always objective. For example, a person can be charge for disorderly conduct or disturbing the peace for making “unreasonable” noise. But “unreasonable noise” to one, may not be to another.

Under Arizona Criminal law, in order to be convicted of disorderly conduct, a person must be engaging in the conduct with “knowledge” or “intent” to disturb another (s) peace. The prosecution has the burden of proving that the accused had knowledge or intent. So for the sake of discussion, what if person number #2 is provoked unexpectedly by person number #1 and an immediately verbal altercation ensues? Then following the incident, the police arrive and arrest both persons. In this case, there are really two compelling argument exists for person #2.

1) Person Number #2 was provoked, and retaliated out of fear of danger or the threat of danger. So their actions were in self-defense.

2) Person Number #2 engaged in an act of immediate retaliation, and did not “intend” to disturb the peace of others in the surrounding area that may have been disturbed by the altercation.

In Arizona, Disorderly Conduct charges are often coupled with other criminal charges. Using the examples above, the following additional charges would apply:

1) Where “unreasonable noise” was reported, the police also found that the person making “unreasonable noise” was under the age of 21, and drinking alcohol. So they were charged with disorderly conduct and “Under Age Drinking”.

2) In the situation where a person was provoked into retaliated, the altercation turned into a physical fight. Both persons were also charged with “assault” in addition to “disorderly conduct”.

Every situation is different and holds its’ own unique set of circumstances. In many cases the language of the law actually serves as to defend the accused, verses prosecuting them. Many defenses are available, but limited to the only those that that surround the circumstances.

Disorderly Conduct Penalties in Arizona
Most disorderly conduct charges are classified as Class 1 misdemeanors. A Class 1 misdemeanor is the most serious of Arizona misdemeanor charges. A Class 1 misdemeanor exposes the accused to a maximum sentence of 6 months in prison and $2,500.00 in fines.

If the situation involving the Disorderly Conduct involved reckless display, use, or discharge of a firearm, a Class 6 Felony may be charged. In that case, the accused may face potential sentencing that includes one year in prison; hefty fines and fees; and a felony criminal record.

If Disorderly Conduct Charges are coupled with other criminal charges, additional penalties would apply. When disorderly conduct is charged in relation to another crime, it usually is involves more serious crimes such as DUI, or Assault charges.

Criminal Defense Lawyer for Disorderly Conduct Charges in Chandler AZ
You should consult an experienced criminal defense attorney who defends criminal charges in Chandler before pleading guilty to Disorderly Conduct charges in Chandler AZ. The charges may not be justified, and defenses may exist that you are not aware of that can lead to a dismissal of your charges.

If you “Like” this article please let us know! Feel Free to “Share”!

Continue reading

“Not all arrests for disorderly conduct charges are lawful. Don’t plead guilty before consulting an experienced criminal lawyer who defends disorderly conduct charges in Gilbert”.

Disorderly Conduct Charges Gilbert AZ
“Disorderly conduct” or “disturbing the peace” charges are common in Gilbert AZ. But just because they are common, does not make them less serious. A good criminal defense attorney who defends Gilbert Disorderly Conduct Charges will be the first to tell you, not to ignore these charges. If you ignore them or fail to appear at your designated court date, a warrant will be issued for our arrest.

Like any arrest or criminal charges, they are not always lawful or justified. But the person arrested for disorderly conduct now faces criminal charges, and will need to get the criminal matter resolved or face potential serious consequences if convicted.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IBMFs3CZfIU

Penalties for Disorderly Conduct in Gilbert AZ
Circumstances surrounding the Disorderly Conduct charges will weigh heavily on the classification for which the conduct will be charged. A large number of these charges are classified as Class 1 Misdemeanors. Class 1 Misdemeanors are the highest level of AZ Misdemeanors. Class 1 Misdemeanors will expose you to six months of incarceration and $2500.00 fines if convicted.

Class 6 Felonies are charged if the disorderly conduct involves a firearm. Disorderly Conduct Felony sentencing includes maximum penalties of up to one year in state prison, fines and fees, and a felony criminal record.
Arizona Disorderly Conduct Laws
Arizona Disorderly Conduct Laws are found in Title 13 of Arizona Criminal Code ARS 13-2904. An outline and summary of the law is shown below:

A person can be charged with disorderly conduct when the following applies to their conduct:
1) “With intent” someone disturbs another person, business, or other entities’ peace: or
2) “With knowledge”, of their actions, a person engages in the following behavior (s):

• Fighting; or other disruptive behavior;
• Loud music or other disruptive noise especially late evening or early am hours;
• Using offensive, disturbing, abusive language or gestures that provoke immediate retaliation by another party;
• Disruption or disturbance that lasts for an extended period of time;
• Disrupting person (s) with the intent to prevent or distract them from engaging in a lawful meeting or gathering;
• Disobedience of a lawful order to dismiss, evacuate or remove one’s self from a premises or area, for purposes of public safety; imminent danger; fire, flood, or other hazard or emergency;
• Unlawful discharge of a firearm; reckless display of a gun or other dangerous weapon.

Criminal Defense for Gilbert AZ Disorderly Conduct Charges
Good criminal attorneys who defend criminal charges in Gilbert AZ challenge disorderly conduct charges frequently. They often can get them dismissed due to their subjective nature of disorderly conduct charges. Depending on the circumstances, many effective defenses can be used by good criminal defense lawyers to challenge unjust disorderly conduct charges. You should contact a criminal lawyer who defends disorderly conduct charges in Gilbert before pleading guilty to these charges. They will discuss your charges and provide you with your defense options.

If you “Like” this article please let us know! Feel Free to “Share”!

Continue reading

10 Things Police Don’t Tell You about Phoenix DUI Sobriety Checkpoints.

Article Written By: James Novak, Experienced Phoenix DUI Lawyer, & Criminal Defense Attorney
This time every year, Phoenix DUI lawyers and criminal defense attorneys start getting pretty busy with DUI violations, and other criminal charges that result from drinking and driving, or other offense that can stem celebrations or gatherings. One thing to expect is Arizona DUI sobriety check points. Phoenix DUI checkpoints are pre-determined and announced by city officials and law enforcement agencies. Not only are the locations of the DUI sobriety checkpoints decided in advance, but so are the vehicles they decide to stop. Federal laws adopted by Arizona, require that which vehicles to stop, be based on a mathematical formula. For example, it could be every third or fourth vehicle, or every vehicle. The only way to be 100% certain you won’t be stopped if you find yourself in a DUI roadblock line is the obvious: Avoid drinking and driving; and avoid driving impaired to the slightest degree, due to alcohol, drugs, or any other toxic substances that would impair your ability to drive in Arizona. If that is not possible, then read on to learn how to survive the DUI stop:

1. Stay away.
Before you leave for your destination, find out in advance where the planned Phoenix, Tempe, Mesa, Chandler, Gilbert, Scottsdale DUI roadblocks will be. Officials must announce DUI sobriety check point locations in advance. Check your local media and news sources; official law enforcement, DPS, Maricopa County, and other Social Media outlets, websites, blogs. Then take a detour.

2. Make your Arizona driver’s license and registration accessible to you in the vehicle. When the police stop a vehicle at a DUI check point, they will ask you for your driver’s license and vehicle registration. They are not just looking to see if your driver’s license is current and valid; or to make sure you’re not driving a stolen vehicle. They are also observing your demeanor, any unusual fumbling; or lack of controlled motor skills they may cause them to investigate you further for Arizona drunk driving or DUI. Produce your license and registration timely and without question.

3. Stay calm and in control. The Phoenix police or DPS officers always expect people to be a little nervous at a DUI stop, even if they have nothing to hide. But being overly nervous or over gesturing is a red flag to them that something’s up;
4. Don’t joke around. Refrain from joking, laughing or chattering to the police or other passengers in the vehicle with you. Heads up passengers….this includes you too. In fact, you should alert all passengers that you are approaching a DUI checkpoint that silence and respect is necessary, and throughout the process.

5. Get off the cell phone and refrain from texting. While in line or at the actual DUI stop, stay focused; pay attention; and listen to what is being asked of you by the police.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y0eEUEyF6CA

6. Don’t complain about the Phoenix DUI checkpoint or being stopped. Remain respectful and polite to the officers. Treat them how you would want to be treated if the tables were turned.

7. Give them only the information they are requesting. Don’t offer information about where you’ve been; where you are going, what you’ve eaten, or what you have been drinking, or anything of that nature. What may seem to you as harmless or innocent “elevator conversation” may actually cause them to question you further. A respectful greeting is sufficient such as “Good evening officer”, “Hello officer”, “Thank-you Officer” and the like.
8. Don’t offer any information about medical conditions or medications you have. And especially do not offer information regarding prescription or over-the-counter medications you may have consumed or that may be in your possession. To do so, may cue the officer’s to investigate you further for a Phoenix Drug DUI or Medication DUI. In Arizona you can get a DUI if you are “impaired to the slightest degree” by legal non-prescription drugs. You may not be aware that certain medications you purchased from a local drug store for aches, pain, allergies, headaches or other reason, contained ingredients that impaired your driving.

9. Don’t allow passengers to carry or consume alcoholic beverages while in your vehicle. When you step up to be the designated driver, you get to make the rules. The rules are to protect you and them. It’s your license and your freedom is on the line. Your job is to be sober and get them to their destination safely. Their job is to ride by your rules. When you make the rules and your riders abide them, everyone wins and you’re the “Most Valuable Player”.

10. If you are charged with DUI, consult an experienced Phoenix DUI lawyer as soon as reasonably possible regarding your matter. Arizona DUI, drunk driving, or DWI charges carry some of the most severe penalties in the Country. You will need a good Phoenix criminal attorney to defend your charges; protect your rights; and fight for a dismissal or other favorable outcome.

If you “Like” this article please let us know! Feel Free to Subscribe and Share”!

Continue reading

“Arrests for Disorderly Conduct in Tempe AZ are not always lawful….Why Good Tempe criminal defense lawyers often get disorderly conduct charges dismissed.”

Tempe Disorderly Conduct Charges
“Disorderly conduct charges”, also called “disturbing the peace” are common in Tempe. But frequency makes them no less serious. An experienced Tempe criminal attorney will tell you they should be taken seriously due to their consequences if convicted.

Arizona Disorderly Conduct Penalties
Circumstances surrounding the charges dictate if the disorderly conduct charges will be brought as a felony or misdemeanor. Disorderly conduct charges are usually brought as Class 1 Misdemeanors. This is the highest level of Arizona Misdemeanors. Class 1 Misdemeanors convictions carry a maximum sentence of 6 months in jail or prison and up to $2500.00 fines.

Disorderly Conduct charges in Tempe AZ bought as Class 6 Felonies are charged if the disorderly conduct involves a firearm. Disorderly Conduct Felony Charges carry maximum penalties of one year in prison, along with fines, fees, a long term felony criminal record; and anything else the court deems necessary.

Disorderly Conduct Laws in Tempe AZ
Arizona Disorderly Conduct Laws are outlined under ARS 13-2904 Arizona Criminal Code, Title 13. For the readers convenience below is the law paraphrased, and explained for discussion:
A person can be charged with the crime of disorderly conduct under the following circumstances:
1) “with intent” of disturbing another person (s) peace or disruption of their business: or
2) ” with knowledge” of doing so, that person engages in one or more of the following:

• Fights, altercation. or other disruptive behavior;
• Unreasonably loud or disruptive noise or music;
• Offensive or abusive language or gestures which provoke another person immediately retaliate;
• Disruption or commotion lasting for an extended period of time or any physical or verbal disturbing display with the intent to prevent or distract a lawful gathering, or meeting;
• Failure to obey or adhere to a lawful or civil order to leave a premises or area issued for purposes of public safety risk of danger or peril such as fire; or other imminent hazard or emergency;
• Reckless display or discharge of a firearm, or other deadly weapon.
Defenses for Tempe AZ Disorderly Conduct Charges
Experienced Tempe criminal defense firms often challenge disorderly conduct charges due to their subjectivity. Their legal arguments often result in dismissal of the charges. There are many defenses that can be used to combat unjust disorderly conduct charges. Depending on the circumstances one or more of the following defenses categories may be used (Defense list not all inclusive):
• “Justification” Defenses; Self-defense; the accused was protecting a defenseless person being attacked; the accused’s conduct was an immediate reaction to being provoked, or threatened;
• “Affirmative” Defenses; A fact that prevents the prosecution from being able to prosecute the charge: Charges being brought in the wrong jurisdiction; charges were not brought within the state’s time limit for certain criminal offenses; the accused was mentally ill, and did not “intend” to cause the disruption;
• “Reasonable Doubt” Defenses; Credible and trust worthy eye witnesses have conflicting accounts of the event from the Police officer’s account; the prosecution is unable to prove beyond a “reasonable doubt” that a crime was committed by the accused; or there is no evidence, no witnesses, or no complaints made of a disturbance caused by the accused; ;
• “Violation of Constitutional Rights” Defenses; Right to free speech, no abusive or offensive language was used; right to assemble lawfully and peacefully; freedom to practice faith or religion without disturbance.
Why Police Make Arrests for Disorderly Conduct in Tempe
Those charged or arrested are often confused as to why they were arrested for disorderly conduct. In most cases, it has less to do with what they did, and more to do with what the police could not do. Most Tempe criminal defense attorneys agree that it is an overused charged. The police generally use it as a “catch-all” of charges, when they don’t know what else to charge someone with, but want to make an arrest. Charges sometimes follow a warning by police, but a warning by police is not required.

The most common reasons charges or arrests for disorderly conduct is Tempe is for the following reasons:
1) Police are fed-up or annoyed with you;
2) Police have no other appropriate charge to use;
3) Police feel compelled to make an arrest or charge because complaints continue despite warnings; and/or the police have to return to the scene more than once;
4) Police felt that you disrespected them or that you were not being cooperative;
5) Police believed your actions were deliberate, and intended.

Always consult an experienced criminal lawyer to defend your Tempe disorderly conduct charges. Just because you were charged with disorderly conduct does not mean the arrest was lawful.

If you “Like” this article please let us know! Feel Free to “Share”!

Continue reading

“How good defense Attorneys in Phoenix help you avoid self-incrimination after an arrest for Phoenix DUI or Criminal Charges”

Experienced Phoenix Criminal Lawyers may disagree on a variety of topics related to criminal defense. But one thing good criminal defense lawyers will always agree on, is that you preserve your “right to remain silent” and “your right to an attorney”.

Following your arrest for Phoenix DUI or criminal charges you should not agree to be interrogated or answer any questions regarding your guilt or innocence or any other facts surrounding the Phoenix Criminal or DUI charges, until and unless your Phoenix criminal defense lawyer or Phoenix DUI Attorney is present.

An arrest for Phoenix DUI or criminal charges is a traumatic ordeal. If you can remember nothing else, once you have been arrested or taken into custody, you must remember to “Remain Silent”. Do not agree to answer questions or to be interrogated about the criminal charges without your Phoenix Defense Attorney present. Following a Phoenix DUI arrest or arrest for any other Criminal Charges, you may feel that everything is out side of your control. But there are two things that will remain within your control, unless you voluntarily give up control or waive your rights:

1. Your Right to an Attorney; and
2. Your Right to Remain Silent
At the point that you are arrested, hand cuffed and taken into custody, the Phoenix Police have already made up their minds to arrest you and take you into custody. Beware, the police are taking notes of your every action and word. The Phoenix Police work closely with the Arizona Prosecution to get a conviction. So they will use whatever you do and against you if they can. There is no benefit to allowing yourself to be interrogated or questioned following your arrest or detention for the criminal or DUI charges. It can only detriment your defense. The Phoenix Police and Arizona Prosecution may appear to be sincere. They would like you to believe that their motive to “help” you in your defense. Not so – Don’t buy it. Their job is to convict you, not defend you.

You will make the Arizona Prosecution’s job easier to convict you of the crime if you allow yourself to be interrogated or questioned in absence of your Phoenix Defense Lawyer. The Police and Prosecution are elated when defendants give them narratives or allow themselves to be interrogated without their Phoenix defense attorney present following their arrest. Any information they obtain from you will be used to strengthen their case against you in order to get a conviction. You do not have to help them convict you.

Phoenix DUI and Criminal Defense Lawyers in Arizona
As soon as reasonably possible, following your arrest, you should retain representation of a private practice Phoenix DUI lawyer or Phoenix criminal defense attorney. A good Phoenix DUI lawyer, who defends Criminal and DUI charges on a regular basis, will act as a barrier between you and the Phoenix police/prosecution. An experienced criminal defense attorney will make sure your constitutional rights are protected; make sure you are treated fairly; be present during any interrogations in a more controlled environment to protect you from unfair questioning; object to or provide guidance on whether or not you are required to answer certain questions that may incriminate you or harm your defense; and begin tailoring and building a strong defense on your behalf. A good Phoenix criminal attorney or Phoenix DUI lawyer will make every effort to get your charges dismissed, in whole or in part, or reduced. Retaining an experienced Phoenix DUI attorney or criminal defense lawyer is by far, your best chance of getting your charges dismissed, or the otherwise best possible outcome in your case.

Continue reading

Don’t Plead “Guilty” to a Chandler DUI or Criminal Charge before Consulting a Good Chandler DUI and Criminal Attorney… Good criminal defense attorneys may be able to use certain defenses that may lead to a dismissal of your charges.

Chandler DUI or Criminal Charge – Arraignments – What to Plea
Among other reasons, the primary reason for an Arraignment is to inform the court of how you wish to plea. It is never a good idea to plead guilty to any Arizona crime or DUI or criminal charge before consulting a DUI or criminal defense attorney. Arizona has some of the toughest DUI and criminal laws and penalties in the country. You should retain an experienced AZ DUI and criminal attorney to defend you. Good criminal defense attorneys may be able to use certain defenses that may lead to a reduction or dismissal of your criminal charges. In the least you should consult a Chandler DUI or Criminal defense lawyer to get information about your charges, consequences of a guilty plea and your defense options.

Criminal Court – Arraignment for Chandler AZ Charges
For Chandler criminal or DUI charges, you will be given a complaint at some point following your arrest (if in custody) or a summons will be delivered to you (if you are not in custody). It will contain information concerning location, date and time you are required to appear at criminal court for your Arraignment.
The court location for where you will be required to appear is generally determined by the nature of the charges, and jurisdiction where you were charged. Most felony arraignments are held in Arizona Superior Courts. Most misdemeanors are held in Arizona Justice Courts. However, some felonies can initially begin in a lower court such as Arizona justice courts.

Arraignment: “Failure to Appear”- Chandler DUI or criminal charges
If you have not retained a DUI or criminal defense firm, you must appear at the court location, date, and time designated. If you “fail to appear”, a warrant may be issued for your arrest under criminal code:

1) “A.R.S. 13-2506 in the second degree; classification” Failure to appear for Misdemeanor Charges;
2) “A.R.S. 13-2507 in the first degree; classification” Failure to appear for Felony Charges
If you have retained a Chandler DUI or criminal defense attorney, they will give you further instructions. In many cases your defense attorney can vacate the arraignment date, through alternative legal channels so you do not have to appear in person.

What Happens at an Arraignment in Criminal Court
At your arraignment 1) the Judge will confirm your address, identity; 2) explain your rights; 3) read your formal charges; 4) advise you of the potential range of penalties if convicted; 5) find out if you plan to retain a criminal defense attorney; 6) and how you wish to plead to the DUI or criminal charge(s).

Types of Pleas that You Can Entered at Your Arraignment
There are three possible pleas to a criminal or DUI charge:
“Not Guilty” – This means that you are denying guilt. In this case, the burden of proof is with prosecution to prove your guilt of the criminal charges against you. If you enter a plea of not guilty on your arraignment date, the Judge will set your case for either a pre-trial conference or a formal trial date.

“Guilty” – You admit or agreeing that you committed the act charged; that the act is prohibited by law; and that you have no legal defense for your act. The Chandler AZ Court judge will proceed with your sentencing at this time. For felonies a future date and time will be set for your sentencing hearing.

“No Contest” – This means you are not admitting you are guilty; but that you also do not wish to challenge the charges or evidence at a trial; and you will accept the conviction, sentencing and punishments of the criminal charge. The judge will proceed with your sentencing at this time. For felonies a future date and time will be set for your sentencing hearing.

Continue reading

You should know the difference between two particular AZ Criminal Laws:
“One may lead to a dismissal of charges: the other a conviction”
Article by: James Novak, DUI & Criminal Defense Lawyer Arizona
Good AZ Criminal Defense Attorneys – Choose the Right Defenses
Arizona has two criminal laws that may involve defenses of “not having knowledge”. The wrong one if used as a defense would result in a disastrous outcome for the defendant. The other if used effectively, under right circumstances, may lead to a dismissal of DUI or criminal charges. That is why it is important to hire an experienced Arizona criminal attorney or DUI trial lawyer to defend your DUI or Criminal Charges in Arizona.

Arizona Criminal Laws – Comparison of Two Criminal Defenses

1. “A.R.S. Title 13, Chapter 2, 13-204. Effect of ignorance or mistake upon criminal liability”- Where “not knowing the law” is not a viable defense and in fact may lead to a conviction. In reader friendly terms this law states that if one “does not know the law”, it makes no difference, and they will be held criminally responsible. In Arizona, if a person knowingly commits an act, but claims they “didn’t know” it was a violation of the law, it does not matter In fact by claiming they did not know their conduct was a crime; is simply reinforcing to prosecution that they in fact committed the crime.

2. “A.R.S. Title 13 Chapter 34: 13-3405. Possession, use, production, sale or transportation of marijuana; classification Where “Not having knowledge” may lead to a dismissal of charges. This law applies to Arizona Drug laws; in it is a provision and requires that the state prove beyond a reasonable doubt that a defendant was “knowingly” in possession of drugs, in order to get a conviction for the drug charges. In this case, if someone “did not know” they were in possession of the drugs, their criminal defense attorney would present compelling arguments to the effect that their client “was not knowingly in possession” of the drugs. This often times proves to be a most effective defense that results in suppression of evidence, and dismissal of charges.

Application of Two Arizona Laws and Defenses:

1) A.R.S. 13-204. In the first case one admits certain criminal conduct, but “does not know” their actions were against the law. (not a valid defense)
2) A.R.S. 13-3405. In the second case, involving drug charges, a person is charged with drug possession, but “does not know” they were in possession of drugs. (Justifiable defense).

Examples of each of the Two Arizona Laws and Defenses:

1) A.R.S. 13-204 – The accused is arrested for possessing dangerous and illegal drugs. They claim they knew they had the dangerous drugs, for intended personal use. They were promptly arrested. They insist they did not know it was against the law to have the particular dangerous illegal drugs in their possession. It does not matter. They have reinforced their dangerous drug possession charges in favor of the prosecution.

2) A.R.S. 13-3405 – A friend borrowed the accused person’s vehicle and inadvertently left a bag of Marijuana on back floor board of the car. The following evening, the owner of the vehicle was driving it and was stopped by police for a minor traffic infraction. As the police officer approached the vehicle they saw the bag of Marijuana in “plain sight”, and arrested the owner of the vehicle. Until then, the owner of the car did not k now the Marijuana was in the vehicle. A good AZ criminal defense lawyer will have a compelling argument that the accused was not “knowingly” in possession of the drugs.

If you face criminal charges in Arizona, be sure you consult and retain an experienced criminal defense lawyer in the state and county you received the DUI or criminal charges. DUI and criminal laws and defenses may differ in every state.

Source of Arizona Law: Arizona State Legislature
Arizona Revised Statutes azleg.gov

Continue reading

15 Traits of Maricopa County Defense Lawyers – Who Often Get Criminal & DUI Charges Dismissed!

“Your chances of getting criminal charges dismissed increase with an attorney who can present a “compelling argument”, over an attorney who has a stronger argument, but presents it less persuasively.”

– James Novak, AZ DUI & Criminal Defense Trial Lawyer and Author of “Arizona Winning DUI & Criminal Defense Strategies” Book Series
1. Experience; Criminal & DUI defense experience in Maricopa County;
2. Communication: The best trial lawyers listen, as well as they speak. They know that winning cases are often found in the “details” of the facts, evidence and testimony; and they don’t want to miss a thing. A DUI lawyer preoccupied with what they are going to say next, risks missing details that could lead to their client’s case dismissal;
3. Compelling: The best defense lawyers are persuasive, articulate and compelling. They can present highly effective arguments;
4. Thousands of Hours of Trial & Litigation: Be careful of hiring criminal defense attorneys who have not spent much time in the court room or trial, even if you don’t plan on having a trial. The fact is, that there are attorneys who have not seen much of the “inside of a court room”: either because they are new, or because they simply don’t challenge the evidence or prosecution on the issues very often. In those cases, the attorney simply agrees with whatever the prosecution throws at their clients for conviction and sentencing; You don’t need to pay someone to help you lose;
5. Former Prosecutor: Here are just 4 good reasons to choose a former prosecutor:

(a) They get a vast amount of trial experience in many types of criminal cases in a short amount of time;
(b) In Maricopa County, it is not unusual for prosecutors to be in court or trial 4 to 5 days a week, every week. There are fewer of them and they carry heavy caseloads;
(c) In contrast average DUI or criminal defense lawyers in Maricopa County, only go to trial on about 2% or 3% of their cases, if that;
(d) Criminal defense lawyers who are former prosecutors know what can and can’t be done outside to help the defendants, particularly when it comes to negotiations for dismissals, or reduction in sentence; they practiced by the book, and know what’s in the book; and they don’t take “no” for an answer if they know otherwise;

6. They are Scholars of Arizona DUI & Criminal Defense Law
: They know the Arizona criminal law; they are familiar with existing and new laws, changing legislation, and court cases with outcomes that may impact their client’s DUI & Criminal charges in Maricopa County. They recognize that Arizona Laws do not exist just to prosecute a defendant and they know what laws to use that will make good defenses and protect the rights of their clients;

7. They Don’t Use “Cookie Cutter” defenses
: The best lawyers understand that “one size fit all” does not apply to defenses in a DUI or criminal cases. Each is unique and with its own set of facts. Winning DUI & Criminal Defense strategies are well thought out, and tailored to fit the circumstances. A particular defense in a case that leads to a dismissal may result in conviction with a prison sentence in a different case;
8. They Don’t File “Frivolous” Motions: Attorneys with reputations of filing frivolous or unjustified motions lose credibility with judges and the prosecution in courts where they regularly appear;

9. They Never Underestimate the Power of Filing EARLY Justified Motions
: These often involve procedural or constitutional rights violations such as 1). Charges being brought in the wrong jurisdiction; or 2). Time limit to prosecutor has expired for that crime under Arizona Constitution and the like;
10. The “Home Court Advantage”: The best criminal lawyers defend charges exclusively within their own jurisdiction or county such as in the case of Maricopa County. So although they may be licensed to practice in the entire state of Arizona, it is still best in most cases to hire an attorney who frequently defends cases in the jurisdiction or county where the charges were filed. Those lawyers have built reports; are well respected by law enforcement, prosecutors, investigators, expert witnesses, and judges; and they are extremely familiar with court procedures and protocol throughout courts for which they defend clients; There’s no substitute for the “Home Court Advantage”;
11. Simplify Complex Issues: Not only are the best attorneys able to interpret the law, but they have the ability to simplify them in the best light for their client’s defense;

12. Passion and Dedication
: They are dedicated to their client’s defense and obtaining the most favorable outcome for them; they have a passion for defense; they recognize that the accused has fundamental rights by law to defend their charges in due process under the United States Constitution and Arizona Law; They make sure defendants are treated fairly, and their constitutional rights are protected;
13. Work Ethic: They make the time needed to tailor, build, and present a compelling defense case which includes gathering evidence, retesting it, examining the facts, and challenging evidence for suppression (not to be used), and obtaining exculpatory (evidence in the client’s favor); they conduct their own defense investigations, concurrently as the prosecution is building their case;
14. They exhaust all means to obtaining the best outcome for their clients: Including case dismissals (partial or complete); negotiating for a better outcome, including leniency in penalties; or alternatives to harsh and unwarranted sentencing such as incarceration.

15. Getting the Case Dismissed is #1 priority: If a client does not wish to challenge their charges; have someone fight for them; or attempt to get their charges dismissed; then they do not need to hire one of the “Best Criminal Defense Attorneys in Maricopa County”. In fact, they would not need to hire any criminal defense attorney, in that the case.

If you “Like” this article please let us know! Feel Free to Share”!

Continue reading