Arizona tops the nation minor consumption of alcohol and Binge Drinking

On June 8, 2012, the US Department of Human Services Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) survey results. According to Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance Summaries 2011 report, Arizona topped the nation at #1 with 26.5% for high school students who engaged and alcohol “binge drinking”. Arizona dropped to the number #2 spot for with 43.8 % of high school students admitting to current use of alcohol (just shy of Louisiana at 44.4%.)

Binge Drinking

Binge drinking is consuming 4 to 5 alcoholic beverages, or “shots” in a row, within a short period of time. One drink is considered a 12 ounce bottle of beer; 3 to 5 oz. of wine; or 1 to 1.5 oz. of 80-86 proof liquor. If any of these or any combination of these are consumed within a short time for example within one or two hours, a person is considered to be binge drinking.

Hazards of minor consumption of Alcohol and Binge Drinking

Binge drinking is the number one cause of alcohol poisoning which can cause serious injury, disease, liver failure, and even fatality. Other hazards include DUI and/or serious and fatal auto collisions if a person is a passenger in the vehicle of another driver who is driving drunk.

Underage DUI and Minor Consumption Zero Tolerance Laws
Arizona is considered to be a “0” tolerance state, meaning it is unlawful for a person to be found with any amount of alcohol in their body, whether they are impaired or not. There are a few exceptions under safe supervised conditions such as religious exercises, or medicinal purposes.
A.R.S. § 4-244. 41. It is unlawful to drinking spirituous liquor under age 21;
A.R.S. § 28-1381 A. (1). It is unlawful to drive if you are “impaired to the slightest degree” due to drugs or alcohol;
A.R.S. § 28-1381 A. (2). If the person is under twenty-one years of age, with spirituous liquor in the person’s body;
A.R.S. § 4-244. 34. It is unlawful for a person under age 21 years of age to drive or be in physical control of a motor vehicle if any amount of liquor has been consumed and found in a person’s body;
A.R.S. § 28-1381 B (1) is against the law to drive with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or greater;
A.R.S. § 4- 241. It is unlawful for a person to buy, sell, give, or distribute liquor to a person under age 21.

Penalties for Underage Minor Consumption and Underage DUI Charges Tempe AZ

• 2 year driver’s license suspension or denial;
• Jail Term;
• Probation;
• Fines up to $500.00;
• Community Service;
• Alcohol education and counseling;
• Installation of ignition interlock device on vehicle

Minor Consumption – Underage DUI charges defense Tempe AZ

If you face charges for minor consumption or underage DUI, you should consult a criminal defense attorney before pleading guilty. There may be defenses you are not aware of that can help you save your driving privileges, avoid jail, or other favorable outcome in your case.

Resource Links:

http://goo.gl/ry4Yr
http://goo.gl/6MHYu


If you “Like” this article please let us know with “+1”. Feel Free to subscribe and “Share”!

Law Office of James Novak
4500 S. Lakeshore Drive
Tempe AZ 85282
(480) 413-1499
www.Arizonacriminaldefenselawyer.com
www.novakazlaw.com
Arizona DUI & Criminal Defense
Serving Tempe, Phoenix,Mesa, Chandler, Gilbert, Mesa, Scottsdale, AZ
Free Consultation! Call (480) 413-1499

Posted in:
Updated: